Governance and Membership

The governing bodies of the Institute

The President is elected by the Board of Institutional Members based on a nomination by the Rector of the University of Trento. The President convenes and presides over the Board of Institutional Members, the Steering Committee and the Management Committee and is the legal representative of the Foundation.

The Board of Founding Members is composed of the legal representatives of the Founding Members or their delegates. The Board decides on: matters concerning change to the Statute; dissolution of the Foundation; and appointment of the President, Vice President, members of the Management Committee, and members of the Advisory Board.

The Steering Committee consists of representatives from all the Founding and Ordinary Members and performs the general function of exercising direction and control over the centre’s activities. In particular, it is responsible for decisions regarding approval of multi-year planning documents, appointment of the Auditor, and approval of the proposed and actual budgets.

The Management Committee is composed of the President and three to eight members elected by the Board of Founding Members. The tasks of this Committee include: deciding on matters concerning the activities of Euricse in pursuit of its aims, deliberating on the admission of new members on the basis of the regulations approved by the Steering Committee, defining the organization’s structure, deliberating on any action concerning assets and financial matters, and appointing a Scientific Committee. The current composition of the Management Committee is as follows:

The Auditor is appointed by the Steering Committee. The Auditor is responsible for supervision of Euricse’s administrative management, as well as compliance with the law and with the Statute. Currently the Auditor is Paolo Carolli.


Euricse is characterised by Italian law as an associational foundation. It has the legal status of a private nonprofit and operates with full statutory and management autonomy.

Members are divided into two groups:

Founding Members

Federazione Trentina Cooperazione, Fondazione Cassa di Risparmio di Trento e Rovereto, International Co-operative Alliance, Provincia autonoma di Trento, Università di Trento.